PURE REVELATION

My journey took a sharp turn toward the Lord when I began to learn about receiving revelation. I have put these principles together in a way that you can understand as quickly as possible. Applying these principles will take practice and effort, but, like learning to play an instrument or speak a foreign language, you too will be able to learn them and find what you are seeking.

How do we receive pure revelation and know it’s the real thing? Are we not seeking knowledge that will lead us to Christ, literally? I would like to share some ideas that have made a huge difference for me. This pattern involves prayer, asking questions, and developing sensitivity to hearing the voice of the Lord and His messengers.

Where do you start?

OBSTACLES

It’s so important to know that the Lord is guiding us and that we’re on the right path. Receiving revelation can be troublesome when distracted by the challenges of life, if bad spirits are controlling us because of sin and addiction, or if our emotions have enough power over us to cloud our thoughts. The Adversary uses many devices to prevent us from succeeding: fear and discouragement are two of his favorites. If our preconceived ideas of how the Lord will communicate with us overshadow our desire to ask the Lord in faith, we will struggle to get answers. [1] First, we must clear our thoughts, relax, and focus. Then, when we are in that quiet mode of pondering, the Lord can easily speak to us through His Spirit.

WHAT IS IT?

Beginning the process of learning to receive revelation may be confusing. We ask questions and wait to hear something, but what are we expecting to hear? Will it be an audible voice? Will it be a warm feeling? Many have been conditioned by years of Sunday School to expect a “burning in the bosom”[2] or some miraculous event. Some waiting to get that feeling simply give up until they start to cry in Sacrament Meeting because somebody shared a sentimental story; they wonder if they now have had a spiritual witness. Typically, revelation comes as a soft, mild voice in the mind or a clear knowledge that rests upon the soul “like the dews from Heaven.”[3]

When you feel pure intelligence flowing into you, it may give you sudden strokes of ideas, so that by noticing it, you may find it fulfilled the same day or soon; (i.e.) those things that were presented unto your minds by the Spirit of God, will come to pass; and thus by learning the Spirit of God and understanding it, you may grow into the principle of revelation, until you become perfect in Christ Jesus. (Teachings of the Prophet Joseph Smith, sel. Joseph Fielding Smith [1976], 151.)

START SMALL

For many of us we have to “grow into the principle of revelation.” Some advice for learning to hear “The Voice” may be to start by asking closed-ended questions that can be answered with either a “yes” or “no” answer. If the answer is unclear, I would repeat the question a second or third time to see if you get the same answer. If there is a confused feeling, don’t assume the answer is no. Consider rephrasing the question or ask a different question until a response comes. The answer should give you a settled, comfortable feeling.

An example of a conversation in prayer may be as follows:

“Lord, how should I spend my time?” (No answer) “Lord, should I spend more time with my family?” (Yes.)

A question that is too broad may not be answered. We need to ask questions that the Lord can properly answer. Often the Spirit will lead us to know what to say and how to ask the actual question. As our understanding of the Spirit grows we can receive more than the single word response.

Remember, one must get good at asking questions if they want to be good at getting answers. Ask LOTS of questions, humbly, patiently, and expect to get an answer to each question.[4] It requires concentration of the mind and heart both working together in harmony.

EVER TRIED THIS?

I would suggest having a pencil and paper to write the answers as they come to you. You can even write questions beforehand so they can be read to the Lord while praying. Closing your eyes and kneeling are not always necessary. Try sitting down on the ground to get comfortable. As answers come, write them down. Perhaps spend more time pondering than speaking the prayer. The Lord will often present visions in your mind as your focused thoughts ponder on the topic. [5]

As you progress into the principle of revelation, you will begin to receive more than just “yes and no” answers. Phrases will come to you, and phrases will grow into longer sentences, and sentences into conversations, as you find yourself speaking by the Power of the Holy Ghost to someone on the other side of the veil. [6]

LIKE A BLESSING

For those who have given a priesthood blessing, the act of receiving revelation is similar. We clear our minds and say what comes, removing any preconceptions and simply trusting the Lord. The spirit provides the intelligence and our brains translate the thoughts into words.

WILL I BE DECEIVED?

Some people may begin to feel nervous and ask, “What if I am deceived?” It is important to sometimes ask the Lord to shield us from the Adversary. It is easy to be deceived if we are too eager to gain knowledge and don’t check our answers.[7] I often ask, “Lord, are there any spirits here that need to be removed?” If yes, I simply ask Him what to do and follow the instruction. [8]

If you are struggling with the ability to receive revelation, ask the Lord if He will give this gift to you.[9] Asking opens the doors of Heaven.[10] I call this the “Law of Asking.”

Moroni gives his council to those seeking an understanding of truth verses error:

Wherefore, a man being evil cannot do that which is good; neither will he give a good gift. For behold, a bitter fountain cannot bring forth good water; neither can a good fountain bring forth bitter water; wherefore, a man being a servant of the devil cannot follow Christ; and if he follow Christ he cannot be a servant of the devil. Wherefore, all things which are good cometh of God; and that which is evil cometh of the devil; for the devil is an enemy unto God, and fighteth against him continually, and inviteth and enticeth to sin, and to do that which is evil continually. But behold, that which is of God inviteth and enticeth to do good continually; wherefore, every thing which inviteth and enticeth to do good, and to love God, and to serve him, is inspired of God. Wherefore, take heed, my beloved brethren, that ye do not judge that which is evil to be of God, or that which is good and of God to be of the devil. (Moroni 7:10-14)

If you continue to ask and you cannot get a yes or no where just moments earlier it came easily—take it as a no.[11] Be sure you are asking with a clear mind, devoid of emotion, unworthy thoughts, or doubts that you are receiving revelation.[12] Remember, the Spirit will speak to you and you will often translate these messages into your own words; therefore the words will have a voice similar to your own and yet from above.[13] Do not be discouraged if you find that you were being deceived by the Adversary. You must be tempted that you may learn to distinguish the good from the evil.[14] If you are humble and seek the Lord, you will be led to the truth.[15] There must be an opposition in all things;[16] therefore, if you are given a deception by the Adversary, prepare yourself to receive a powerful revelatory experience from the Lord, for He shall not leave you comfortless.[17]

We are all deceived during our lives and Satan is cunning. Many never find their way because they fail to exercise faith in the Lord and seek Him. For those who do seek Him, they are led to knowledge and freedom.

Fear of a deceptive witness can still prevent good people from even attempting to seek revelation or to part the veil. You must never fear such things.[18] The best avenue to knowing that your revelation is correct and from the Lord is to do the following:

  • Ask the Lord if there are any deceitful spirits near you. This is one question where the Lord has never allowed the Adversary to deceive me. You will know. Ask that a shield be placed around you to prevent your conversation from being heard or interrupted.
  • Ask if there is anything else you need to do in order to speak without deception with the Lord. The purpose of this is to strengthen the shield if necessary. You can trust that the Adversary will not intercept your prayer.
  • Receive your revelation.

Check your revelation to see if it is accurate and inspired. Unless there is any part of the revelation that feels awkward or troublesome after this point,[19] embrace it as your personal scripture. If not, revisit that part in prayer. Never be afraid or doubt; be believing.

WHAT KINDS OF REVELATION?

The Lord may also reveal His will to us through dreams, visions, the scriptures, and the words of other people. Often the experience is more than a casual impression, more vivid than a fleeting thought, and makes a profound impact. But again, it is always good to check with the Lord. “Lord, is this revelation from thee? Is this truth?” And then we must forge ahead and believe.

WHAT NEXT?

After learning to receive revelation, the journey begins to expand exponentially. You are administered to by Angels and hear the voice of the Lord. You will be led to do all things the Lord would have you to do. This is a principle of faith that leads to the mysteries of Godliness.[20] The Lord wants to bring us to Him as fast as we are willing to go.[21] It is difficult for many to trust that the Lord would speak to them directly, but He does. The journey of coming to know Him is rich in blessings as He thins the veil and you move toward the ultimate goal of knowing for yourself.

Salvation cannot come without revelation; it is in vain for anyone to minister without it. No man is a minister of Jesus Christ without being a Prophet. No man can be a minister of Jesus Christ except he has [the] testimony of Jesus; and this is the spirit of prophecy. Whenever salvation has been administered, it has been by testimony. Men of the present time testify of heaven and hell, and have never seen either; and I will say that no man knows these things without this. (Joseph Smith, DHC v3. p.389)

I think there are many facets to this conversation worth exploring. We should never be afraid to ask questions and seek more understanding. Ask that the Lord bestow His gifts upon you, specifically the Gift of Discernment.[22] If we can’t find our answer in the scriptures, and we’ve exhausted our resources, take it to the Lord and expect something from above. Expect the unexpected.


 

[1] Jarom 1:4

[2] D&C 9:8

[3] D&C 121:45

[4] James 1:5,6

[5] 1 NE 11:1

[6] 2 NE 28:30

[7] Mosiah 4:27

[8] D&C 46: 7,8

[9] D&C 6:10,11

[10] 3 Nephi 27:29

[11] D&C 9:9

[12] Mormon 9:27,28

[13] D&C 8:2,3

[14] Moses 6:55

[15] Moroni 10:4,5

[16] 2 Nephi 2:27

[17] John 14:18

[18] Isaiah 41:10

[19] D&C 9:9

[20] 1 Nephi 10:19 You cannot receive revelation without exercising faith.

[21] 2 Nephi 28:30

[22] The Law of Asking requires us to request blessings of the Lord. Go to page in this book.

This entry was posted in Revelation. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to PURE REVELATION

  1. Judy says:

    I really enjoyed what you had to say thank you! But I did want to ask the question about the shield. Can you explain it a little more? Is it the shield of faith?

    Like

  2. There are many kinds of shields. I talk more about this in the first book. I don’t think I know all of the kinds there are, but I have experienced quite a few. Without a good grasp of how to discern revelation they are difficult to wield. In the future I intend to write more detail regarding such things.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. To learn more about shields:
    How To Have Your Second Comforter, pgs. 86-104

    Like

  4. I have a couple of questions if you get time to answer.
    1. I have started seeing images in the blackness when I close my eyes for awhile, like what you’ve mentioned, I’ve been able to track it with my “eyes” and when I focus it becomes very clear and detailed for a few moments. It seems the times when it’s happened have been in bed while i’ve been pondering or in prayer. My question is: Are you able to go to the Throne while laying in bed? it seems you are in your closet after you go through your usual preparations.
    2. Second question: Do you leave your body when you go to Him? Or is it more like a glorified Facetime? If your wife called for you while you were there or a child came to the closet would you know they had entered?
    Thank you again and i’m so grateful to be shown that this is possible.

    Like

  5. Jacob, it is possible to go while laying down, but I don’t like to do that because I want to be alert. You are still tethered to your body, so if you become sleepy you may disconnect. It takes a lot of focus. I prefer sitting on the ground. As far as the actual ascension, it is a spiritual ascension, so you could be awakened by a loud noise, or something like that. For me, its like my spirit splits and I am there, but also in my closet, or wherever. There have been many times where I was completely unaware of my physical body, and other times as if I were in two places at once.

    Liked by 6 people

  6. Thank you for always getting back to everyones questions so quickly. I really appreciate it and love reading everyones questions and answers. I’m looking forward to reading the new book that came out just now. Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Karla Mennig says:

    I had a divine vision recently by following these steps and others you’ve given, and afterwards it was confirmed to me that it was real and from God. I felt I need to have this vision because of something new coming into my life. However, I have found that is very frowned upon by many in the church so I have to be careful who I talk to about how as Elder Maxwell said it “ To those who have eyes to see and ears to hear, it is clear that the Father and the Son are giving away the secrets of the universe!”

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Karla Mennig says:

    When I first start I have a hard time imagining the door, and then when I finally see it then it becomes hard to focus on it or open it. Is this normal? When I open the door it is black, but as I pray I start to see the vision. Also, I do have a hard time focusing on one thing, I feel that I go so fast and if I don’t slow down I lose the vision. What can help?

    Like

  9. It helps to try and see more, smell, focus on the small details, and don’t try and hurry. We can become impatient. When first learning to open your spiritual eyes this is normal.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Karla Mennig says:

    Thank you! I remember thinking or being told to smell the flowers, look at the colors, to slow down, and it did help. I did receive a confirmation later that the vision was real, when I went to the temple, it’s that normal? It wasn’t a voice, but it was what I saw. It was mind blowing.

    Like

  11. Karla says:

    What is the best sequence to follow? I have read your books, but I find myself all over the place when it comes to your other stuff. Do I just start at the top and work my way down? I like everything that helps me understand how to receive revelation, and that will teach me how to come to the Lord.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yes, start at the top and go down. In the link “Books” it explains how I suggest to read the material.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments or Questions

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.